sábado, 6 de octubre de 2018

Tegueste

Muncipality: Tegueste



History


Before the conquest of Tenerife, which finished in 1496, Tegueste was one of the novels menceyatos of Tenerife. It is necessary to emphasize, just as an anecdote, that this one is one of the municipalities of the island withouth a coast.

In the ravines Núñez, Agua de Dios and Milán there are several archaelogical places, especially it was found some caves of room. During the conquest the inhabitants were part of the war side, so as a consequence the survivors were enslaved.

Some Houses
After the conquest, El Adelantado and figures as Mateo Viña and Pedro Lopez obtained good bylines of land in the zone. In 1530 Lopez`s widows, yields lands and taxes for the construction of a hermitage in the center of the town, which was founded by Melián de Bethencourt in 1540 under the dedication of San Marcos.

In this zone there settled slaves, mediators, laborers and lessees, since most of the land was given to landowners contractors. The first nucleus that was constituted was between two water currents, however the zone was famous by the existence of great quantities of springs and fountains.

Map
Until 1606 the hermitage was depending on  La Laguna, but this same year it was requested to have its own pastor.  In the year 1700 the chapel had already been very small, and half of the same one was in the ravine, for that reason it was moved up to the place in the one that is nowadays.

The population grew slowly until the middle of the XVIIIth century in the Old and New Tegueste, thanks to the wines. Nevertheless, this growth did not stop the emigration. The wine was the principal culture, followed by the potatoes and the maize.

The municipality was divided during several years, for that reason it is necessary to speak about the New and Old Tequeste, being the new one part of Tejina. 

Art
Later the presence of the Prebendado Pacheco, the parson who helped to the first literacy of the teguesteros, and in addition stimulated the construction of the town hall, cemetery and home of the deceased. His labor will mark a milestone in the forties of the 19th century.

Drago Tree
It is in 1813, when it begins the history of Tegueste's Town hall.

The municipality was up to good entered the 20th century, surviving of the agriculture and the ranching. The property was centered in a few hands, due to the Mendizabal's disentailment and  strong emigration. As a consequence the development of the agriculture and of the same inhabitants stoped. The farmers who stay were smallholders, lessees and mediators of the landowners who were residing in other places.


Representative Buildings 

Casco de Tegueste: Bic 1986. The population would not define of the former capital lagunera up to enter the 19th century.

In the center there stands out the parish of San Marcos, which current location was effected in 1701.


Some Houses in Tegueste

Antiguo ayuntamiento: The construction began in 1843 thanks to the contribution of the neighbors and the impulse of the parson Antonio Pereira Pacheco and Ruiz. Though Tegueste had been constituted as a municipality in 1813, it was not having a headquarters for the municipal dependences. This building served also as public granary, home of the deceased's family and school. Nowadays it is the headquarters of the Court of Peace.

Old Town Hall 

Casa de la Audiencia: According to the oral tradition, when an epidemic of pest flogged the island in 1583 the Chapter, which at the time had the headquarters in La Laguna, met in that place. 

Audiencia House

Casa del prebando pacheco: This building received, besides the house of the priest, the Tegueste's first public school in 1849. The Prebendado Antonio Pereira Pacheco and Ruiz were the parson of Tegueste between 1842 and 1856, and helped to improve diverse socioeconomic aspects of the people. At present this building  is used as a room of exhibitions.

Prebando Pacheco´s House 


Iglesia San Marcos:  Evangelist was raised at the beginning of the 16th century as devotion to San Marcos. The first stone is placed from the year 1700 financed by the sale of wood and the contributions of the neighbors. 


With romantic Mudejar style, the construction got longer during years in which the reforms and extensions were constant. Nowadays it has three ships with tower, belfry, roof to two waters and front pages of hewn stone. In the interior it is  emphasized the images of San Marcos, Virgin of the Remedies, etc.

San Marcos Church
Casa de los Tacoronte: This former lordly palace of two floors possesses a beautiful garden in which there can be admired exotic and tropical species. It was the summer residence of the French consul Baron of Chasserieu, though the house owes his name to D. Eduardo Tacoronte, which married the daughter of the above mentioned diplomat. It is located  close to the way of The Laurels, part of the former road link the neighboring municipality of La Laguna. 

Casa de los Tacoronte

Finca y casa de los Zamorano: The estate has a surface of 6 hectares and is dedicated to the sowing of grapevines, fruit trees and ecological gardens, though also it has a press (for the wine), an age, a zone for the dragging of cattle and a circuit authorized for the competitions of cross-country running. 


There is found the House of the Zamorano, a former traditional housing that constitutes an excellent example of the houses of party wall of the zone and that nowadays is a Center of Interpretation, where the visitor can discover how the agrarian, formative and sports utility can coexist in the same place. 

Finca de Los Zamorano

La Placeta:  It receives also the name of the Plaza of Pedro Melián or of Eduardo Tacoronte. Located at a crossroads of ways, always it was a place of meeting between  the neighbors. This function remained confirmed with the construction of a Calvary at the end of the 19th century and a water jet at the beginning of the 20th century.

La Placeta


Plaza de la Arañita:  Acquaintance as El Llano, is the place where Tegueste was founded, since it has a few orographich favorable conditions for the accession of the population, especially as for the facility of access already the water availability. The first hermitage dedicated to San Marcos was raised near this square. 

Plaza de la Añarita

Camino de los Laureles: This path forms a part of the former royal way for the one was acceding to the village from before the conquest of the island, and reports with the way de las  Peñuelas. Part of the attraction resides in the remains of laurisilva, that embellish this emblematic place.


Camino Los Laureles

Barranco de Agua de Dios: Bic 2006. The Archaeological Zone spreads over the riverbed of Agua de Dios, which from Tejina receives the name of Milan.


From the archaeological point of view, the ravine constitutes a unit of permanent accession of great importance of the island of Tenerife, since it is demonstrated by the extraordinary number of hollows that have received documents in both margins, especially in the left side. The caves have formed by means of processes of differential erosion. 

Crossing the Ravine
According to the Archaeological Charter of the municipalities of Tegueste and San Cristóbal de La Laguna, thirty natural caves have been inventoried, both with a housing function and as a funerary one. 

domingo, 2 de septiembre de 2018

Tegueste

Municipio: Tegueste


Historia

Antes de la conquista de Tenerife, finalizada en 1496, Tegueste era uno de los nueves menceyatos de Tenerife. Hay que destacar que este es uno de los municipios de la isla que no poseen costa, es una curiosidad ya que es una isla.

En la zona se han encontrado varios lugares arqueológicos, sobre todo cuevas de habitación en los barrancos Núñez, Agua de Dios, Milán y un tagoror. Durante la conquista fue uno de los integrantes del bando de guerra, por lo que los supervivientes fueron esclavizados.

Después de la conquista, El Adelantando y personajes como Mateo Viña y Pedro Lopez, tuvieron buenas datas de tierra en la zona. En 1530 la Viuda de Lopez, cede tierras y tributos para la construcción de una ermita en el casco, que fundaría Melián de Bethencourt en 1540 bajo la advocación de San Marcos.

Tegueste
En esta zona se asentaron esclavos, medianeros, jornaleros y arrendatarios, ya que la mayor parte de la tierra fue dada a hacendados asentistas. El primero núcleo que se constituyó fue entre dos corrientes de agua, ya que en todo su entorno existían gran cantidad de manantiales y fuentes.

Hasta 1606 su ermita dependía de La Laguna, dicho año en que se solicitó la erección como curato de San Marcos Tegueste y ya en 1699 tuvo cura propio. En el año 1700 la capilla ya era muy pequeña, y mitad se encontraba en el barranco, por lo que se trasladó hasta el lugar en el que se encuentra hoy en día.

La población creció lentamente hasta mediados del XVIII, siglo en el que el Viejo y Nuevo Tegueste crecen gracias a sus vinos. Sin embargo esto no paro que  la población tuviera que emigrar.  El vino era su principal cultivo, seguido de la Papa y el Maíz.

Tegueste
Lo del Nuevo y Viejo Tequeste, es que el municipio estuvo dividido, siendo el nuevo dependiente de Tejina.

Posteriormente la presencia del Prebendado Pacheco, cura-párroco, ayuda a la  primera alfabetización de los teguesteros, y además impulsa la construcción del ayuntamiento, cementerio y casa mortuoria. Su labor marcará un hito en los años cuarenta del siglo XIX.

Es en 1813, cuando comienza la historia del Ayuntamiento de Tegueste.

El municipio estuvo hasta bien entrado el siglo XX, subsistiendo de la agricultura y la ganadería. La desamortización de Mendizabal, unida a la fuerte emigración, hacen que la propiedad se concentre en pocas manos, que por interés frenarán el desarrollo de la propia agricultura y de los mismos habitantes. Los agricultores que quedan son pequeños propietarios, arrendatarios y medianeros de los terratenientes que residían en otros lugares.

Tegueste

Inmuebles a visitar


Casco de Tegueste:  Bic 1986. La población no se deslindaría de la antigua capital lagunera hasta bien entrado el siglo XIX.

En su casco sobresale la parroquia de San Marcos, cuya actual ubicación se efectuó en 1701.

Hacia la Iglesia

Antiguo Ayuntamiento: Su construcción se inició en 1843 gracias a la aportación de los vecinos y al impulso del párroco Antonio Pereira Pacheco y Ruiz. Aunque Tegueste se había constituido como municipio en 1813, no disponía de una sede para las dependencias municipales. Este edificio sirvió también como alhóndiga, casa mortuoria y escuela. Actualmente es la sede del Juzgado de Paz.

Antiguo Ayto.

Casa de la Audiencia: Según la tradición oral, cuando una epidemia de peste azotó la isla en 1583 el Cabildo, que entonces tenía su sede en La Laguna, se reunió en este edificio.

Casa de la Audiencia

Casa del Prebando Pacheco: Este inmueble acogió, además de la vivienda del sacerdote la primera escuela pública de Tegueste en 1849. El Prebendado Antonio Pereira Pacheco y Ruiz fue el párroco de Tegueste entre 1842 y 1856, y contribuyó a mejorar diversos aspectos socioeconómicos del pueblo. En la actualidad este inmueble se emplea como sala de exposiciones.

Casa Prebando Pacheco
Iglesia San Marcos: se erigió a principios del Siglo XVI como devoción a San Marcos Evangelista. Su primera piedra se coloca a partir del año 1700 financiado en su mayor parte por la venta de madera y las aportaciones de los vecinos. Con estilo romántico mudéjar, su construcción se alargó durante años en los que las reformas y ampliaciones fueron constantes. Actualmente dispone de tres naves con torre, campanario, techumbre a dos aguas y portadas de cantería. En su interior destacan las imágenes de San Marcos, Virgen de los Remedios, Virgen de El Rosario, Virgen de los Dolores, San Andrés, San Lorenzo, Santa Rita de Casia y San José.

Iglesia San Marcos

Casa de los Tacorontes: Este antiguo palacio señorial de dos plantas posee un bello jardín en el que pueden admirarse especies exóticas y tropicales. Fue la residencia de verano del cónsul francés Barón de Chasserieu, aunque debe su nombre a D. Eduardo Tacoronte, que contrajo matrimonio con la hija de dicho diplomático. Se encuentra junto al camino de Los Laureles, parte de la antigua vía de comunicación con el municipio vecino de San Cristóbal de La Laguna.

Casa de los Tacorontes

Finca y casa de los Zamoranos: La finca tiene una superficie de 6 hectáreas y está dedicada a la siembra de vides, frutales y huertos ecológicos, aunque también dispone de un lagar, una era, una zona para el arrastre de ganado y un circuito homologado para las competiciones de campo a través. En la propia finca también se encuentra la Casa de los Zamorano, una antigua vivienda tradicional que constituye un excelente ejemplo de las casas de medianería de la zona y que actualmente es un Centro de Interpretación en el  que el visitante puede descubrir cómo la utilidad agraria, formativa y deportiva pueden convivir en un solo espacio.

Casa de los Zamoranos
La Placeta: Recibe también el nombre de Plaza de Pedro Melián o de Eduardo Tacoronte. Emplazada en una encrucijada de caminos, siempre fue un lugar de reunión entre los vecinos. Esta función quedó confirmada con la construcción de un Calvario a finales del siglo XIX y de un chorro de agua a principios del siglo XX.

La Placeta

Plaza de la Arañita: Conocido como El Llano, es el lugar donde se fundó Tegueste, ya que dispone de unas condiciones orográficas favorables para el asentamiento de la población, especialmente en cuanto a la facilidad de acceso ya la disponibilidad de agua. La primera ermita dedicada a San Marcos fue erigida junto esta plaza.

La Placita
Camino de Los Laureles: Este sendero forma parte de antiguo camino real por el que se accedía al pueblo desde antes de la conquista de la isla, y comunica con el Camino de las Peñuelas. Parte de su atractivo reside en los restos de laurisilva, que embellecen este lugar emblemático.

Camino Los Laureles

Barranco de Agua de Dios: Bic 2006. La Zona Arqueológica se extiende por el cauce del Barranco de Agua de Dios, que a partir de Tejina recibe el nombre de Milán.

Desde el punto de vista geomorfológico, se trata de un cauce bastante amplio, con un cierto grado de encajamiento, en el que contrasta la verticalidad de la margen izquierda y las laderas de menor pendiente que caracterizan a la margen derecha.

Desde el punto de vista arqueológico, el barranco constituye una unidad de asentamiento permanente de gran importancia en el conjunto de la isla de Tenerife, como lo demuestra el extraordinario número de oquedades que se han documentado en ambas márgenes, especialmente en la izquierda. Las cuevas se han formado mediante procesos de erosión diferencial en los niveles escoriáceos que separan las coladas masivas apiladas en los taludes del cauce.

Según la Carta Arqueológica de los municipios de Tegueste y San Cristóbal de La Laguna, se han inventariado una treintena de cuevas naturales, tanto con una función habitacional como funeraria.

Parte del Barranco

domingo, 5 de agosto de 2018

Sanatorio path

Municiality: La Orotava
Aproximate duration: 3:45H (go and back)
Maximun height: 2296m
Minimun height: 2196m
Distance: 4,74km (go)



Area information

Today we are walking through the path of the Sanatorio (Sanatorium). During the walk, we are going to find in a point  with a few buildings.

The tourism in the Canaries was born when many patients belonging to relative rich travel up to the islands, which were "sold" by doctors for possessing a soft climate all around the year, fresh air, which was ideal to treat respiratory diseases and of skin problems. Between these diseases we find tuberculosis, pneumonia and bronchitis were. For this reason, on the island several sanatoria were constructed, to lodge these visitors.

Buildings
One of them was constructed in Las Cañadas, and today there stays some private property known as El Sanatorio. Nowadays, this original building does not exist, but if a few sheds constructed between  the 30 and 40 of last century in the same place. With the medical advances for the recoveries from these diseases, and the fact of being declared as national park, it was sttopped  many untenable actions in the zone.

Also, it is said that the constructions that we see it is the house of the doctor and services, remaining paralyzed the work without the stays of the patients managing to be constructed.

The path

In the flora there abound brooms (Spartocytisus supranubius), codesos (Adenocarpus viscosus), rosalillos (Pterocephalus lasiospermus), magarzas (Argyranthemum frutescens) and grasses (herbs) pajoneras (Descurainia bourgaeana).In spring and summer it is a good place to observe the multitude of insects that take advantage of the flowering that dyes, these places of white, yellow and pink

Geologically, stands out the lava of the dome of Montaña Blanca with different forms.

Article about the Sanatorium: http: // www.laopinion.es/tenerife/2015/02/22/sanatorio-fantasma-teide/591972.html





The path and the landscape

Description of the path 



The drop of the path

We are in the path number 16 of the National Park of the Teide. This path goes from the skirts of the own volcano, up to Siete Cañadas, just opposite side of Guajara.

The path is realized in a track used by hunters in the epoch of hunt (we can see the different cars) and also in first they put on different beehives in the same one (obtaining of the honey of broom).

Landscape

To come to the zone it is possible to can take different means of transport as the Bus, which from Puerto de la Cruz is the line 348. From Costa Adeje ist the line 342. We can  also drive  the car, having a parking zone  in the viewing-point where it  begins the Sanatorium, in Majúa's viewing-point (it connects a path with that of the Sanatorium) and also in the zone it was doing the cablecar.

We take the road TF-21 (for La Orotava or Vilaflor); TF-24 (for La Laguna); and TF-38 (Boca Tauce-Chío).

Landscape
It is a path that has very little difference, what if it has straight enough, that do not make seem that we are in a road ghost (for moments and due to the inclination and the Sun they look like the roads of the movies that you do not see the end of the same one and that suddenly it can appear a little in the bottom that goes towards you).

This one put up signs, and the track along which we walk they make us continue it without option to getting lost, the only point that might have a problem is a bifurcation to the left hand (if it is done from the skirts of the Teide up to Siete Cañadas) but we take abreast, and to a few meters we find the number of paths that they indicate us that we took well.

Path
It  is not to circulate, it is possible to take  the option to once come to Siete Cañadas, take  sensible towards the inn, and once here return to the path of Majúa (19). Or to rise to Guajara and to descend, or to go for Siete Cañadas and to finish in the visitors' center. Already we decided to return to the same place.

In the final section of the path and us going out of the same one we find the Sanatorium (that as the straight lines, the sense of place gives ghost)

Path

domingo, 1 de julio de 2018

Sanatorio



Municipio: La Orotava
Duración aproximada del trayecto: 1:45 (ida) 2:00 (vuelta)
Desnivel máximo:  2296m (aprox)
Desnivel mínimo: 2196m (aprox)
Distancia [Km]: 4,74 Km


Información sobre la  zona


Nos encontramos en  el sendero del Sanatorio. En este punto vamos a ver unas edificaciones que tienen su historia.

El turismo en Canarias nace cuando muchos enfermos pertenecientes a familiar ricas viajan hasta las islas, las cuales eran “vendidas” por médicos por poseer un clima suave todo el año, aire puro, que era ideal para tratar enfermedades respiratorias y de piel. Entre estas enfermedades estaban tuberculosis, neumonía y bronquitis. Por esta razón, en la isla se construyen varios sanatorios, para hospedar a estos visitantes.

Sanatorio
Uno de ellos se construyó en Las Cañadas,  y  hoy  queda alguna propiedad privada conocida como El Sanatorio. Hoy en día, no existe este edificio original, pero si unas casetas construidas entre los 30 y 40 del siglo pasado en el mismo lugar. Con los avances médicos para la cura de estas enfermedades, y el hecho de ser Las Cañadas declaradas parque nacional (también tenemos que añadir que en esta zona durante la noche bajan las temperaturas, por lo que la zona no es tan ideal para la cura como si lo fue el Valle de la Orotava, teniendo el Puerto de la Cruz como el primer municipio turístico) , han hecho que se frenasen muchas actuaciones insostenibles en la zona. 

También, se dice que las construcciones que vemos es la casa del médico y servicios, quedando paralizada la obra sin llegar a construirse las estancias de los enfermos.

Paisaje
En la flora abundan retamas (Spartocytisus supranubius), codesos (Adenocarpus viscosus), rosalillos de cumbre (Pterocephalus lasiospermus),  magarzas (Argyranthemum frutescens) y hierbas pajoneras (Descurainia bourgaeana).  En primavera y verano es un buen lugar para observar la multitud de insectos que aprovechan la floración que tiñe estos parajes de blanco, amarillo y rosado. 

Geológicamente, destacan las lavas del domo de Montaña Blanca con sus diferentes formas.

Sendero

Artículo sobre el Sanatorio: 

http://www.laopinion.es/tenerife/2015/02/22/sanatorio-fantasma-teide/591972.html

Descripción del sendero. 


Recorrido y mapa de elevación

Estamos en el sendero número 16 del Parque Nacional del Teide. Este sendero va desde las faldas del propio volcán, hasta siete cañadas, justo en frente de los escarpes de Guajara. 

El sendero se realiza en una pista, utilizada por cazadores en época de caza (podemos ver los diferentes coches) y también en primavera se ponen diferentes colmenas en la misma (obtención de la miel de retama).

Sendero
Para llegar a la zona podemos tomar diferentes medios como la Guagua, que desde el Puerto de la Cruz es la línea 348. Desde Costa Adeje, línea 342. También podemos ir en coche, tenemos zona de aparcamiento en el mirador donde comienza el Sanatorio, en el mirador de Majúa (conecta un sendero con el del Sanatorio) y también en la zona hacía el teleférico. 

Tomamos  la carretera TF-21 (por La Orotava o por Vilaflor); TF-24  (por La Laguna); y  TF-38 ( Boca Tauce-Chío).


Señal sendero
Es un sendero que tiene muy poco desnivel, lo que si tiene bastante rectas, que no hacen parecer que estamos en una carretera fantasma (por momentos y debido a la inclinación y al sol parecen las carreteras de las películas que no ves el final de la misma y que de repente puede aparecer algo en el fondo que va hacia tí). 

Esta señalizado, y la pista por la que caminamos nos hacen continuarlo sin opción a perderse, el único punto que podría tener problema es una bifurcación a mano izquierda (si se hace desde las faldas del teide hasta siete cañadas) pero cogemos de frente, y a unos pocos metros encontramos el numero de sendero que nos indican que cogimos bien.

Sendero
No es circular, se puede coger la opción de una vez llegar a siete cañadas, coger sentido hacia el parador, y una vez aquí volver por el sendero de Majúa (19). O bien subir a Guajara y descender, o ir por Siete Cañadas y finalizar en el centro de visitantes. Ya eso es a gusto de quién lo haga, aquí se decidió volver por el mismo sitio.

En el tramo final del sendero  y saliendo del mismo encontramos el Sanatorio (que al igual que las rectas, da la sensación de lugar fantasma)


Paisaje y construcciones del sanatorio