miércoles, 17 de febrero de 2016

Majúa

Municipio: La Orotava
Duración: 1:30 (ida) 3:00 (vuelta)
Altitud máx: 2.293m
Altitud min: 2.151 m
Distancia: 3,8 Km (ida)



Información sobre la zona


La Montaña de Majúa (cono volcánico) es un caso de erupción fonolítica de gran explosividad. Los fragmentos de este tipo de erupción (escorias, bombas y pómez) forman conos volcánicos de cenizas.

Sendero
La vegetación característica son las retamas y algunos codesos, hierbas pajoneras, rosalillo de cumbre y margaza.

En  cuento a la fauna podemos encontrar escarabajos, lagartos, pinzón azul, etc.

Sendero

Descripción del recorrido



Recorrido y Mapa de Elevación


Nos encontramos en el Parque Nacional de las Cañadas del Teide. Este sendero comienza  frente a la base del teleférico (a pocos metros del mismo).

Para llegar a la zona, cogemos la línea 342 (Adeje) y la 348 (Puerto de la Cruz). También, se encuentran zonas habilitadas de aparcamientos para dejar el coche, ya que es un mirador (apartadero) donde comienza; hay miradores colindantes y también se puede dejar en los aparcamientos hacia el teleférico (hay un pequeño sendero que conecta desde la carretera del teleférico, sin necesidad de tener que discurrir por la vía, y conecta los miradores entre si)

Caseta del Teleférico

En este sendero vamos desde las faldas del Teide hasta el Parador, es un sendero lineal, pero en nuestro caso al llegar al parador retrocedimos de nuevo dirección al punto de inicio (de ahí que en el tiempo se especifique la ida y vuelta). 

El sendero es llano, y esta bien señalizado (no solo por las señales que indican sendero, sino por el propio sendero en el suelo) por lo que no hay complicación. Aunque hay tramos que presentan alguna estrechez, tanto en el principio como en el final,  puede no identificarse bien el sendero (por la vegetación y/o por las rocas). La primera parte del sendero se va bordeando el cono de pumitas de la Montaña de Majúa, para luego ir bordeando coladas de lava.

Sendero y Retamas

A lo largo del recorrido vemos las panorámicas del Teide, así como de Guajara (dependiendo en que sentido vayamos caminando) y al llegar a la altura del Parador se puede apreciar Los Roques de García. En el tramo medio del sendero hay una gran llanura, donde se puede sentir el silencio que inunda la zona, aunque también el miedo a estar solo es un lugar tan bello. 

Vistas al Teide

lunes, 25 de enero de 2016

The old town of Icod de los Vinos

Municipality: Icod de los Vinos 



History


In the epoch of the Guanches, the municipality was integrated under the Menceyato de Icode. It was formed as a part  of the control of war, for what the population suffered the consequences with the slavery on having finished the conquest.

The distribution of lands of this zone was equitable, however  Fernandez de Lugo saved for himself a portion of it. The Portuguese were the major percentage of the population (80 %) of the zone. There also lived  grancanarios  and very few of the Castilians.

This first population begins to settle in the current population nucleus of Las Angustias, close to the ravine from which a natural source of water was coming.

The primitive church of San Marcos was begun to construct in 1501. The saint is a Flemish sculpture, which according to the legend, it was  found on a cave of the beach of the same name.

House
The first culture was that of the sugar cane, saving Hernadez de Lugo one of a few lands of himself. Nevertheless the crises forced to the lease these lands, and a new culture was born: the grapevine. With this culture come an economic growth, as a consequence a new social elite was formed and they managed to found convents in the zone. It was in this epoch when the zone begins to be known as Icod de los Vinos. In this century more acquaintances were started building too. 

In the 17th century, it was the fourth municipality for number of inhabitants, preceded by La Laguna, La Orotava and Garachico. There was consolidated a pertaining to nobility insular elite, creating primogenitures in the zone and constructing in the household tasks hermitages to highlight the piety and the greatness of their soul.

House
After the wine crisis (the malvasía disappears in 1730), the only exit is the plantation of vidueños  (a variety of wine) which will be commercialized together with the sedates of the zone, towards North America and the Spanish Indies. After this crisis the population started to emigrate, but many people were coming back on having had sufficient economy, or were ordering money, for what this emigration did not do that the population was descending in an alarming way.

Nevertheless, this crisis stopped during a short period of time, due to the wine exports and the blockade of Great Britain; doing that the exports of the islands were increasing. A change that did not last very much, meeting aggravated to signing the peace. It is the year 1814 the last stage of export of the wine (since it was seen in the last centuries).

House
Among the problems which the population faced during these centuries, we can mention the crises in the exports, not being able to compete with others bought and seeing the need to emigrate; sanitary problems and epidemic derivatives of the lateness of constructing the cemetery; the burning flame in 1798, in that approximately 20 houses remained satiny.

In the 19th century, it was possible to find in the area public and private colleges. In May, 1888 it was finished the road that was joining them with La Orotava. In 1887 relied on the first hotel, Hotel English (same lessees that the Hotel Marqueza in Puerto de la Cruz), that it was opening the zone for foreign tourists not only for trippers of step.

Street
From the first moment the municipality had a mayor dependent on La Laguna. From the agricultural point of view, it was joined to Daute's region, of which Icod was separated in 1687, after several lawsuits by Garachico to show the hegemony of the Region. In 1812, after several requests and with the arrival of the liberal regime, Icod acquires independent town hall. Finally, it is in 1833 when the city is proclaimed  as the capital of the region.

Nowadays Icod de los Vinos possesses one of the most important old towns, due to the conservation of the same one. The population coexists between the services sector and the primary sector ,since it still possesses an important wine production, as well as production of a banana plantation.

Balcony

Representative Buildings



The old town of Icod: Declared BIC  in 2002. The Historical town includes  the real estate that line up along the principal urban routes, religious real estate too.

In general, a good part of the real estate are from the 18th century, and are fitted in the baroque stage. But this concept has to be understood more as a chronological frame of reference (not as the development of a skill). The buildings will be supported by  walls of masonry, using irregular stones taking the mud as an element of subjection.

The vano (opening in a compact surface ones) in the fronts are not very numerous and in them it predominates over the use of the wood, on having treated itself about an abundant and relatively cheap material on the islands.

In the windows it alternates the type of cushions - massive and with habitually geometric decoration and those of the guillotine, in which it predominates over the crystal. Also, there are frequent the windows that combine glazed parts and massive and, others even, windows of lattices and of the sliding panel

When many of the inhabitants were returning with more economic power of Cuba and Venezuela (or for the sending of relatives' money), this old town was modified by houses of brick and cement.



Houses and Street

Plaza la Pila (square): BIC. In the beginnings it was a small place. There was carried out a reform to enlarge them, falling down some houses. In 1976 it was put on a fountain to supply the population. In the nearest  we can find casonas (big houses) of the centuries XVII-XIX.

Square
Hospital Nuestra Señora de los Dolores : Icod de los Vinos  was a village as big as that of La Laguna, but nevertheless it was  possessing either the cavalry of the  second one nor better ways, being these narrow. In 1697 Francisco Leonardo runs with the expenses and finishes the construction of the hospital putting also a college of Jesus' Company in the same one.

Hospital

Ex-convent San Francisco: BIC in 2002. Declared Monument in 1986, being the second convent in Icod. The front of the convent is rectangular, with a series of high windows of round arch. The court of the convent dates back of the middle of the 17th century and is of plant squared with cloister of 20 columns of torch on hewn stone.  Nowadays, in one finds the Library.


Ex-convent

Church of San Agustín: BIC. Attached building to the current town hall. Building of 1585, it concerned to the first convent that it was constructed in the municipality. And Ex-convent Angustino: Current Town Hall. It was the First convent of the zone. The front is of style neocanario.


Ex-convent and church
House of the Cáceres: BIC. Casona that dates back to the 19th century, nowadays is a place used for different events.

Caceres´s House

The Church  of San Marcos: BIC. It was first a small hermitage that about 1500 got up in the same place, as a consequence of the appearance of the image of San Marcos.

It presents a rectangular plant articulated in three ships and a total of eight chapels; three in each of wings and two more to the feet of the temple. The ships are separated by arches of half a point that come out into columns of smooth shaft and simple capital, raised on plinth and base.

In the interior it is possible to see the artesonados, emphasizing that of the central ship. On the exterior, the principal front places in the south side of the church, constituting one of the best examples of the manierismo (tipe of artistic stile) in the Canaries. The simplicity of the rest of the exterior fronts is completed by the tower integrated by four superposed bodies. 

The personal property of the Church is completed by other altarpieces and images, as well as diverse pictures of certain interest.

Church


Plaza Lorenzo Cáceres (square): BIC. Construction that gets up on the former convent of the nuns Bernardas. It dates back to the 16th century and one finds about the Church San Marcos.

Square


El Drago:  in 1917 and 1927 it was named to El Drago as a national site. This one received the importance when in 1867 the temporary one ended up by falling down to the dredge of  La Orotava, which up to the date date was the biggest and ancient of the island.


Drago
A bit more on: https://www.facebook.com/Andandoportenerife

In the different populations (Buen Paso, El Amparo, La Florida, Fuente la Vega, La Vega. La Mancha, Santa Bárbara, Las Cañas, San Felipe, San Marcos) we find real estate worth being visited. Between them it been can mentioned:

House Campino: It is located in San Antonio, in the high part of Icod, closely together of the hermitage of the same name and close to the former way of El Amparo. The building of the 18th century preserves important patrimonial values. The construction was adapted to the marked slope of the area.

Campino´s House


Ermita Nuestra Señora del Buen Paso (hermitage):  BIC: it consists of two fundamental elements: the Hermitage and the pine. It is a question of one of the most ancient constructions of Tenerife and at the same time of the simplest. It possesses the typical rectangular floor. It has suffered several modifications, for what they can appreciate modern enough elements.

Tiled

Iglesia del Amparo: It is a BIC. Construction of 1587, it constitutes an architectural set of great relevancy, so much for the traditional typology of the proper temple, since  for the constructive features of called "house of the hermit " (housing that the founder of the hermitage occupied) and of the portico (or orange average). 

The church consists of a ship of rectangular floor, with artesonado.

Church


lunes, 28 de diciembre de 2015

Casco de Icod de los Vinos

Municipio: Icod de los Vinos



Historia


En la época guanche, el municipio estaba integrado bajo el Menceyato de Icode. Este formó parte del mando de guerra, por lo que  la población (al igual que aquellos municipios que conformaron el bando de guerra) sufrió las consecuencias con la esclavitud al finalizar la conquista. 

El reparto de tierras de esta zona fue equitativo; reservándose Fernández de Lugo una porción para él. Los portugueses integraban el mayor porcentaje de la población (80%), entre los que también estaban grancanarios y gomeros. Otra parte de la población (muy poca) era guanche y hubo muy poca presencia castellana.

Esta primera población comienza a asentarse en el actual núcleo poblacional de Las Angustias, junto al barranco del que procedía una fuente natural.

Casco de Icod de los Vinos

En 1501 se comenzó a construir la primitiva iglesia, dedicada a San Marcos. El santo es una escultura flamenca, que según la leyenda se encontró en una cueva de la playa de mismo nombre.

El primer cultivo fue el de la caña de azúcar, reservándose el Adelantado unas cuantas tierras. Sin embargo las crisis por las que pasaba obligaron a su arrendamiento. Luego estas tierras de cultivo se dedicaron a la vid, siglo XVI. Junto con este cultivo llego un crecimiento económico, con lo que se forma una nueva élite social y como consecuencia se fundan conventos en la zona. Es en esta época cuando la zona comienza a ser conocida como Icod de los Vinos. En este siglo también se empiezan a edificar sus inmuebles más conocidos.

En el siglo XVII era el cuarto municipio por número de habitantes, precedido por La Laguna, La Orotava y Garachico. Se consolida una élite nobiliaria insular, creando mayorazgos en la zona y construyendo en sus haciendas ermitas para resaltar la piedad y grandeza de su alma.

Casco de  Icod de los Vinos

Tras la crisis vinícola (el malvasía desaparece en 1730), la única salida es la plantación de vidueños y aguardientes de parras, que serán comercializados junto con la seda de la zona: hacia América del Norte y las Indias Españolas. Tras esta crisis la población emigro, pero muchos retornaban al tener suficiente economía, o mandaban dinero y demás enseres para sus familiares; por lo que esta emigración no hizo que descendiera de manera alarmante la población. Sin embargo esta crisis se vio frenada durante un corto periodo de tiempo, debido a las exportaciones vinícolas y el bloqueo de Gran Bretaña; haciendo que las exportaciones de las islas aumentaran. Un cambio que no duró mucho, viéndose agravada al firmar la paz. Es el año 1814 la última etapa de exportación del vino (como se viera en siglos pasados).

Entre los problemas a los que se enfrentó la población durante estos siglos, podemos citar las crisis en las exportaciones, no pudiendo competir con otros mercado y viendo la necesidad de emigrar; problemas sanitarios y epidémicos derivados de la tardanza de construir el cementerio; Incendio en 1798, en la que quedaron arrasadas unas 20 casas.

Casa del Casco

Por el siglo XIX contaban con colegios públicos y privados. En mayo de 1888 se vio finalizada la carretera que los unía con La Orotava. En 1887 contó con el primer hotel, Hotel Inglés (mismo arrendatarios que el Hotel Marquesa en el Puerto de la Cruz), que abría la zona a turistas extranjeros, no sólo a excursionistas de paso que habían visto hasta la época. 

Desde el primer momento el municipio tuvo alcalde propio dependiente de La Laguna. Desde el punto de vista agrícola, estaba unido a la comarca de Daute, de la que se separo en 1687, después de varios pleitos con Garachico para ostentar la hegemonía de la Comarca.  En 1812, después de varias peticiones y con la llegada del régimen liberal adquiere ayuntamiento independiente. Finalmente es en 1833 cuando a la ciudad del drago se la proclama como capital de la comarca.

Hoy en día Icod de los Vinos posee uno de los más importantes cascos, debido a la conservación del mismo. Su población convive entre el sector servicios y el sector primario ya que todavía posee un importante producción vinícola, así como producción platanera.

Balcón

Inmuebles a Visitar


Casco de Icod de los Vinos: Declarado Bien de Interés Cultural en 2002.  El Conjunto Histórico abarca el núcleo fundacional del primitivo asentamiento después de la conquista. También incluye los inmuebles que se alinean a lo largo de las principales vías urbanas e inmuebles religiosos. 

En general, buena parte de los inmuebles incluidos en el conjunto histórico de Icod se remontan al siglo XVIII, y se encuadran en la etapa barroca. Pero este concepto ha de entenderse más como un marco cronológico de referencia (no como el desarrollo de una técnica). Las paredes son gruesos muros de mampostería, con piedras irregulares y barro como elemento de sujeción. 

En las esquinas suelen emplearse sillares de cantería bien labrados. Poseen  vanos en las fachadas y en ellos predomina el uso de la madera (al tratarse de un material abundante y relativamente barato en las islas). 

En las ventanas alterna el tipo de cojinetes -macizo y con decoración habitualmente geométrica y las de guillotina. También son frecuentes las ventanas que combinan partes acristaladas y otras macizas y ventanas de celosías, de corredera o esquineras.

Este casco se vio modificado por casas de ladrillo y cemento, cuando muchos de los habitantes regresaban con más poder económico de Cuba y Venezuela (o por el envío de dinero de familiares).

Dentro del Casco también mencionar la Casa - Museo Emeterio Gutiérrez Albelo: BIC. Edificio Construido en el siglo XIX (a finales). En este lugar nació el escritor y paso su juventud. Se fundo en 1992 gracias a la biblioteca personal y la donación de sus herederos. Es un casa de estructura sencilla.

Casco
Calle Adoquinada

Plaza de la Pila: BICEn sus inicios era un lugar pequeño. Se llevó a cabo una reforma para agrandarla. En 1976 se puso la fuente para abastecer a la población. En su entorno podemos encontrar casonas de los siglos XVII-XIX.

Plaza

Hospital Nuestra Señora de los Dolores: Icod de los Vinos era un  pueblo tan grande como el de La Orotava, pero sin embargo no contaba con la caballería del segundo ni tampoco con buenos caminos (eran estos angostos). En 1697 Franciso Leonardo Guerra corre con los gastos y termina la construcción del hospital poniendo también un colegio de la Compañía de Jesús en el mismo, todo a cambio de tener el patronazgo. 

Hospital

Ex-convento San Francisco: BIC en 2002. Declarado Monumento en 1986, fue el segundo convento con el que contó Icod.  La fachada del convento es rectangular, con una serie de ventanas altas de arco de medio punto. El patio del convento data de mediados del siglo XVII y es de planta cuadrada con claustro. Además, se conserva la rica techumbre de una antigua capillaAnexo al convento franciscano se edificó en el siglo XVIII la capilla de Nuestra Señora de los Dolores. Actualmente en el se encuentra la Biblioteca.

Ex-Convento
Iglesia  San Agustín: BIC. Edificio adjunto al actual ayuntamiento. Edificación de 1585, pertenecía al primer convento que se construyo en el municipio. 

Iglesia San Agustín

Ex-Convento Angustino: Actual Ayuntamiento. Fue el Primer convento de la zona. La fachada es de estilo neocanario. 


Ayuntamiento

Casa de los Cáceres: BIC. Casona que data del siglo XIX, actualmente es un lugar utilizado para diferentes eventos.

Casa Cáceres
La Iglesia Matriz de San Marcos: BIC.  Sus orígenes se remontan a la pequeña ermita que hacia 1500 se levantó en este mismo lugar, como consecuencia de la aparición de la imagen de San Marcos,(que la tradición sitúa en la playa que lleva su nombre con anterioridad a la conquista castellana)

Presenta una planta rectangular articulada en tres naves y un total de ocho capillas; tres en cada una de las laterales y dos más a los pies del templo. Arquerías de medio punto separan la nave que descargan en columnas de fuste liso y capitel sencillo. Naves y capillas aparecen cubiertos por artesonados mudéjares, destacando el de la nave central.

En el exterior, la portada principal se sitúa en el costado sur de la iglesia, constituyendo uno de los ejemplos mejor acabados del manierismo en Canarias. La sencillez del resto de las fachadas exteriores se completa con la torre, integrada por cuatro cuerpos superpuestos. El cuerpo de las campanas se construyó exclusivamente en piedra tallada dentro de un exquisito clasicismo. 

Los bienes muebles de la Iglesia se completan con otros retablos e imágenes, así como diversos cuadros de cierto interés: La Asunción de la Virgen, El Triunfo de la Eucaristía o el Cuadro de Ánimas.

Campanario
Plaza Lorenzo Cáceres: BIC. Construcción que se levanta encima del antiguo convento de las monjas Bernardas. Data del siglo XVI y se encuentra alrededor de la Iglesia San Marcos.


Plaza


Drago Milenario: en 1917 y 1927 se nombró al Drago como sitio nacional. Este cobró la importancia cuando en 1867 un temporal acabó tumbando al Drago de La Orotava, que hasta la fecha era el más grande y antiguo de la isla. Un poco más sobre el Drago en: https://www.facebook.com/Andandoportenerife

Drago

Fuera del Casco, y en los diferentes núcleos poblaciones (Buen Paso, El Amparo, La Florida, Fuente la Vega, La Vega. La Mancha, Santa Bárbara, Las Cañas, San Felipe, San Marcos) encontramos inmuebles dignos de ser visitados. Entre ellos podemos nombrar:

Casa Campino: Se localiza en San Antonio, en la parte alta del núcleo urbano de Icod de los Vinos, muy cerca de la ermita del mismo nombre y junto al antiguo camino de El Amparo. El inmueble del siglo XVIII conserva importantes valores patrimoniales. La construcción se ha adaptado a la acusada pendiente del terreno. 

Casa Campino

Ermita de Nuestra Señora de Buen Paso y sus bienes muebles: BIC: consta de dos elementos fundamentales: la Ermita  y el pino de Buen Paso. Se trata de una de las construcciones más antiguas de Tenerife y al mismo tiempo de las más sencillas. Posee la típica planta rectangular. Ha sufrido varias modificaciones, por lo que se pueden apreciar elementos bastantes modernos.

Ermita del Buen Paso

Iglesia del Amparo: BIC. Construcción de 1587, constituye un conjunto arquitectónico de gran relevancia, tanto por la tipología tradicional del propio templo, como por los rasgos constructivos de la denominada "casa del ermitaño" (vivienda que ocupó el fundador de la ermita) y del pórtico (o media naranja). 

La iglesia consta de una sola nave de planta rectangular, con artesonado de par y nudillo.

Ermita del Amparo






jueves, 19 de noviembre de 2015

The path of Siete Cañadas

Municipality: La Orotava
Aproximate time: 5-6 H
Maximun Height: 2.239m (aprox)
Minimun Height:   2.050m (aprox)
Distance (Km):  16Km(aprox)




Area Information


We are in the National Park of the Teide. This route, that of Siete Cañadas, belonged to Chasna's way, former road link of the north and the south of the island (with Vilaflor). This place has been used, not only for los Guanches as a place of shepherding, but also by many shepherds until the year 1956 (this practice is prohibited in Las Cañadas in order of the Government, and especially when a site is declared National Park there exist many restrictions of the human activity in this place, in order that it does not harm the flora and fauna of the zone).

The National Park of the Teide was declared as such in 1954, whereas in 2007 it obtains the title of World Heritage of the Humanity with the category of a Natural Place for the UNESCO. Las Cañadas form a gigantic caldera (It is a great depression, different from a crater, caused by different factors) with 17 km of diameter (approximately).

Guajara mountain

Being in this place of the island, we find many endemic species, both of flora and of the fauna. Inside this route we find the tajinaste rojo (Echium wildpretii). Also, we find codesos (Adenocarpus viscosus) and retamas (Spartocytisus supranubius).

Among the fauna, there are also endemic species, as the  lagarto tizón (lizard) and the pinzón azul (bird). Also, we can find perenquenes (a kind of lizard), rabbits...

It is a tour in which we find several geological formations, emphasizing the black basalt, and material washes more yellow (acid magmas emitted by violent eruptions).

Cañadas
And, to which there owes the name of  Siete Cañadas? Since in that part we have found seven little mountains and Cañadas means "space between two heights or slightly distant mountains between  them" "natural way for the step of the cattle " (some of the meanings of this word). In this zone we find seven, the name are:

Cañada del Capricho: capricious forms of colors ochres, that have been eroded and climbers' place.
Cañada de la Mareta: in Guajara's base and it emphasizes the white piroclastos (Any solid fragment of volcanic material expelled across the eruptive column).
Cañada del Montón de Trigo: mound of white sand.
Cañada de la Grieta a plain surrounded with (volcanic) walls, which gives the name of the mountain is the vertical one that crosses a crack.
Cañada de la Angostura: narrow mountain.
Cañada de las Pilas:  basaltic washes.
Cañada de Diego Hernández: it takes the name of the last shepherd of Las Cañadas.



The image is taken of Google Maps, it can see the zone for  the path. It has put on the name of the different mountains, to have an idea wherefrom they are (rather the order, since it has not put in the exact situation of each one).

Description of the path



The drop of the path

We initiate the path from el parador nacional, on having been inside the net of paths of the National Park, this path is put up signs and to say that it is the number 4.

To come to the zone, it can take different means of transports: as the Bus, which from Puerto de la Cruz is the line 348. From Coast Adeje, line 342. Also, we can go in the car, having a zone of parking near the Parador or near the visitors' center (depending wherefrom it is chosen to start). We take for the road TF-21 (for La Orotava or for Vilaflor); TF-24 (for La Laguna); and TF-38 (Boca Tauce-Chío).

Path
The tour does not have difficulty, since it  is relatively flat (there are some zones with some slope but without problem). On having been inside the paths of Las Cañadas del Teide, it is put up signs, (for the numeration before above mentioned), and also from the same one, they come and divide other paths, for what in these crossings we can continue without problems. Also emphasize the comfort of the same one to walk since it is broad enough.

Due to this fact (the comfort; small inclination; few vegetation), this one is one of the famous paths to do during the full moon, since it illuminates enough. Though if one enjoys the full moon, it does not appreciate the stars; so it is a motive for enjoying the path in different moments.

In this case, it was realized the route beginning in el parador and ending in the visitors' center (but it is possible to choose in that direction to do it). So the mountains  before mentioned, we will see them in the same order.

Teide
The route was begun from el parador, at all time we have to our right the walls of the Circus or interior walls, here we find Las Cañadas (of what some theories say that Las Cañadas belonged to a former volcano. This one would be the biggest, that due to the scanty insular, it shelf would be unstable and it ends up by disappearing in one or several earthquakes). On the left side the Teide is, and different washes and malpaíses (It is an accident of the relief characterized by the presence of rocks little eroded of volcanic origin in an arid environment).

Finally, we finish the tour in the Visitors' Center, in El Portillo, place of obligatory step, since it is better where they inform us about the successive eruptions, endemic species, etc, and it is possible to enjoy a movie - documentary on the formation of the island, especially Las Cañadas (to see schedule). 

Cañadas
It is necessary to bear in mind, that this tour is high, though the path does not have any difficulty, we meet the inclemencies of the time, especially the Sun, since it does not arrange of shade; also in winter to rely on the rains and the snow. It is possible to realize in any time of the year, but one advises to do it at the end of the spring, and summers beginning , since it is when retamas y tajinastes flourish. 

Also to say that the time that lasts the route is an approximation, it depends on the person, on the stops, on the time of photos, etc. 

Sign