martes, 24 de enero de 2017

The path from Garachico to San Juan del Reparo

Municipality: Garachico
Aproximate time: 1:30h (go) /1h(return)
Maximun Height: 430 m (aprox)
Minimun Height: 16m (aprox)
Distance: 2,6 km


Area Information


Garachico's historical villa, it was devastated by the volcano Trevejo or Arenas Negras in 1706. Until that moment, here was the most important port of the island.

To know about more eruptions of the island visit:  https://www.facebook.com/Andandoportenerife and on Garachico's municipality: http://andandoportenerife.blogspot.com.es/2013/10/casco-de-garachico.html 


The beginning of the path
The path passes for this hillside, through lavas and  the main part of the same one, we walk along the former camino real (an ancient track that connects two places).

Between the vegetation of the zone, we find Magarzas (Argyranthemum frutescens), Tabaibas (Euphorbia atropurpurea) and Vinagreras (Rumex Lunaria). Little by little we are walking between Heathers (arboreal Heather), some Tuneras (maximum Opuntia), a mixed pine grove, Fern (Pteridium aquilinum), Moss (Bryophyta), etc.

Garachico

Description of the path 


The drop of the path

We begin the tour in Garachico, a  northern municipality, in the northwest of the island of Tenerife.

To come here, we can come in the car and parked it in the parkings of village or in public transport (line 363 and 107, they go by this zone). Though we do not name it very much, a taxi also is an option of transport, and in tours as this one, that they are not linear, that is to say,  not to return to the  beginning point, we can ask to gather us at the far end.

This path is not to circulate, so on, having come to the zone of San Juan del Reparo, we return again for the same route towards Garachico (It is possible to continue with this track to La Montañeta and from there up to El Chinyero. From Garachico to El Chinyero are 12,5Km of distance).

Path
We can find the signs along the circuit  in stones or bollards. But also we have the help that the path is well-defined in the soil (former royal way).

It  is in continuous accenssion, we are rising in the shape on zigzag way, so do not wait  for any flat zone in which to walk. It is necessary to take enough liquid, there are zones of shades, but not many, and to remember that we rise in the hillside. There are zones where the drainpipes are discovered and we can refresh with the water, and especially  not throw  anything, because it is in use for the people and cultures.

Views
We begin in the back of the Town hall, there we find the sign of the path and the map of the path towards El Chinyero. After a few meters in the village, we begin the accession across cement stairs. On having finished this section we come to a shed with seats of wood. We cross the street and in left hand, we see the following sign

This section, wich we raise, have many market-gardens and the stone pavement is scanty. On having finished it, we come to a road where there are some houses and is without an exit. To left hand there is a door for the one that can pass walking and to right hand, we see the continuation of the path and the sign that indicates it.

Atarjea 
From this section, we continue rising in zigzag. There are zones that the stone pavement is well and others totally ruined (to the being the hillside is a zone of enough slides). We find pines that give us shade, as well as totally covered  zones of pinocho (bleed pinar, pinocho o pinocha  depends on the zone of the island, it is said by some means or another).

From that tour, it is possible to see Garachico, the Northwest of the island (Los Silos and Buenavista), as well as the zone of El Guincho with the banana plantation and the north zone (Anaga) if the day is good we can see the end of the island.

One section of the path

We finish the tour on having come to the road that continues up to San Juan del Reparo, finish coming to a house to the end of the path. To come to this point, we returned again towards Garachico, and we see the sign that indicates us that we enter a protected zone (that also it  indicates us that we were going out of the same one on having finished the path).

Remember that it is not advisable to make this tour in rainy areas, because many of the stones on the road are quite smooth and the inclination of some of the exceptional steps.

Garachico from the path

domingo, 1 de enero de 2017

Garachico-San Juan del Reparo


Municipio: Garachico
Duración aproximada camino: 1:30h (ida) 1h (vuelta)
Desnivel máximo: 430 m (aprox)
Desnivel mínimo: 16 m (aprox)
Distancia [Km]: 2,6 km

 Información sobre la zona


La villa histórica de Garachico, fue arrasada en gran parte por el volcán Trevejo o Arenas Negras en 1706. Pueblo que hasta la fecha tenía  el puerto más importante de la isla. 

Para saber más de erupciones de la isla visitar https://www.facebook.com/Andandoportenerife y sobre el municipio de Garachico: http://andandoportenerife.blogspot.com.es/2013/10/casco-de-garachico.html 

El sendero discurre por esta ladera, trayectoria que cogieron las coladas lávicas, y caminamos por gran parte del mismo sobre el antiguo Camino de Herradura (camino que unía el municipio con la zona alta del mismo y el Tanque) .

Garachico
Entre la vegetación de la zona encontramos Magarzas (Argyranthemum frutescens), Tabaibas (Euphorbia atropurpurea) y Vinagreras (Rumex lunaria). Poco a poco vamos caminando entre Brezos (Erica arborea), alguna Tunera (Opuntia maxima), un pinar mixto, Helecho (Pteridium aquilinum), Musgo (Bryophyta), etc.

Puerto de Garachico (nuevo)

Descripción del recorrido


Recorrido y mapa de elevación
Comenzamos el recorrido en el municipio norteño de Garachico, en el noroeste de la isla de Tenerife.

Para llegar aquí podemos llegar en coche y dejarlo aparcado en los aparcamientos del pueblo o bien en transporte público (línea 363 y 107), que pasan por la zona. Aunque no lo nombremos mucho, un taxi también es una opción de transporte, y en recorridos como este que no son lineales, para no volver al mismo por la misma zona, podemos pedir que nos recojan en el otro extremo.

Vistas desde el sendero
Este sendero no es circular, así que al llegar a la zona de San Juan del Reparo, volvemos de nuevo por el mismo recorrido hacia Garachico (el sendero si queremos continua hasta La Montañeta y de ahí hasta el Chinyero. Desde Garachico hasta el Chinyero son 12,5Km de distancia).

El sendero esta en todo momento señalizado, y cada ciertos metros encontramos lo que nos queda hasta llegar a San Juan del Reparo (en km, sobre todo en Garachico, al pasar de esta zona ya no encontramos señales como esta); y la señales que nos indican como continua el sendero (sobre todo en piedras). Pero también tenemos la ayuda que el sendero está bien definido en el suelo (antiguo camino real).

Parte del sendero
Es en continua ascensión, vamos subiendo en forma de zig-zag, así que no esperen en ningún momento alguna zona llana en la que caminar. Es un sendero en el que hay que llevar bastante líquido, hay zonas de sombras pero muchas descubiertas y recordar que subimos por la ladera. Hay zonas en donde las atarjeas están descubiertas y podemos refrescarnos con el agua,  y sobre todo no echarle nada ya que se utiliza para el pueblo y cultivos.

Comenzamos en la trasera del Ayuntamiento, ahí encontramos la señal del sendero y el mapa del sendero hacia el Chinyero. Tras unos metros en el pueblo, comenzamos la ascensión a través de escaleras de cemento, al terminar este tramo llegamos a una caseta con asientos de madera. Cruzamos la calle y a mano izquierda vemos la siguiente señal.

Ladera
Este tramo que subimos se encuentra rodeado de diferentes huertas, y el empedrado es escaso. Al terminarlo llegamos a carretera donde hay algunas casas y es sin salida. A mano izquierda hay una valla por la que se puede pasar caminando y a mano derecha vemos la continuación del sendero y la señal que lo indica.

A partir de este tramo, continuamos subiendo en zig-zag. Hay zonas que el empedrado esta bien y otras totalmente destrozado (al ser una ladera es zona de bastantes deslizamientos). Encontramos pinos que nos dan sombra, así como zonas totalmente cubiertas de pinocho (ó pinocha, depende de la zona se dice de una manera u otra).

Destacar del recorrido, las vistas de Garachico, del Noroeste de la isla (Los Silos y Buenavista), así como la zona del Guincho con su platanera y la zona norte (Anaga, si el día está bueno podemos ver el extremo de la isla).

Sendero
Finalizamos el recorrido al llegar a la carretera que continua hasta San Juan del Reparo,  llegamos a una casa al fin del sendero y una caseta de telecomunicaciones. Llegados a este punto, volvimos de nuevo hacia Garachico, y vemos la señal que nos indica que entramos en una zona protegida (que también nos indica que salíamos de la misma al terminar el sendero).

Recordar que no es muy aconsejable hacer este sendero en épocas de lluvia o chispando, ya que muchas de las piedras en el camino están bastantes lisas y por la inclinación de las pendientes por donde caminamos.

Vistas de Garachico

martes, 22 de noviembre de 2016

La Victoria

Municipality: La Victoria de Acentejo



History

In the pre-Hispanic epoch this place belonged to the Menceyato de Acentejo. It was found some proof of the existence of Los Guanches in the sepulchral cave in El Caletón, with human remains and ceramics.

In this place,  Alonso Fernandez de Lugo won the victory to Los Guanches,being able get this way in Taoro. For that reason this place was called La Victoria (the victory). In 1945 the battle took place near the Ravine of La Matanza, and as a commemoration of the victory a hermitage was built under the name of our Lady of the Victory. After this battle, many aborigines were enslaved.

In La Victoria

When the distribution of lands was given, this zone was considered cerealística (grain culture). From the 16th century the grapevine was begun to be cultivated  (in the third decade), in low zones and mediocrities. This gives a place to the concentration of propertied absentees.

Cereals and wine are the principal productions, of dryness since the irrigation does not exist (that was a reason of some conflicts in the municipality). There was a spring that had an unequal form of distribution of the water. Since 1920 more conflicts took place due to the opening gallery in the zone, whose owners were foreign or not residing in the zone.

Town Hall

As for the handcrafted production, slabs and a blacksmith were producing. In the municipality, it was not possessed a public granary (as in other municipalities); the middle class of the zone was agrarian, and most of the primogenitures belong to foreign owners. 

The population, like it happened in other municipalities, grows and descends according to the economic growth; migratory movements were seen when the principal products stop being exported (in this municipality it is the wine).

To the Church

Though it is not a very trustworthy information, La Victoria accedes to the municipal independence in 1813, and in 1900 it reaches the title of Villa. In the coastal zone the banana plantation is implanted  after the second world war, but it  is not very significant.

The population leaves the primary sector when the tourism activity was appeared. In the zones of mediocrities we see potatoes cultures and vineyards, which have been revealed thanks to the name of origin. 


Representative buildings


We cannot speak about historical city in the strict sense in La Victoria, since only any houses stay about the parish. They also find some rural household  distributed around the municipality (but all this surrounded with more modern constructions).

Nuestra Señora de la Victoria: declared BIC. It is find the pine, close to the paris, of which the bells were hung after the victory (since the first hermitage was a very precarious construction, in dry stone and of an unique ship). In 1537 the hermitage begins to be built. In 1540 one saw favored by the contribution in lands and in taxes that there leaves one of the major owners of the zone, leaving it in his testament. 

This one constituted of a central broad ship and two wings narrow, these are separated for series of arches of half a point. It possesses an artesonado of ochavado (panelling). 

Tower of the Church
It has suffered several reforms: in 1537 there is realized a more solid building of an unique ship. In 1589 it is reconstructed after a fire. But the worst carried out in the 20th century, altering the main face, then that also modified the tower. The rest of temple supports the factory of the XVIIth and XVIIIth century, showing covers to two waters of curved tail

Pine
Hermitage of Santo Domingo: it was founded at the end of the XVIIth in an estate. It is a chapel that is nailed in a Mudejar Casona (Mudejar: artistic style; and casona: big house).

Hermitage of Santo Domingo
Ex-convent of Santo Domingo: it is a construction of 1657 close to the hermitage of Santo Domingo. It was serving as friars' stop, that they were going to Isla Baja. It is a house with the court and continuous balcony, front of masonry and cover to four waters. A press preserves. The construction finished in 1680, though it has been remodelled. The current facilities possess a mediators' housing, the hermitage and a warehouse.

Santo Domingo
Hermitage of San Juan: It is located in the high zone of the city center, and it was founded at the beginning of the XVIIIth, having to be rebuilt since the temporary leave it only with the walls.

It  is of simple architecture, emphasizing in the front a door of wood of half a point that rests in a few simple props. The cover is two waters, with a small belfry with a cross in the center. In the  interior Baptizer was sheltering the image of San Juan, carved in wood being thought that it dates back of the XVIIIth.

Here, we can also find the house of Deán Calzadilla (at the back).

Hermitage and House
Risco (Crag) de La Sabina: declared BIC, is the limit between the municipal areas of La Victoria and La Matanza. The zone constitutes an archaeological area of great relevancy. Numerous findings have been situated, being able to be an important pre-Hispanic accession taking advantage of the numerous caves and opened hollows. Between  the findings, there were remains of malacofauna (fauna of mollusks), ceramics, obsidian, basalt...

The caves documented in the zone characterize for a double functionality habitacional (the caves in the top part of the cliff) and undertaker's establishment.

Views to the Crag
Others of the heritages  to visit are The Hermitage of Virgen del Cobre: and El Puente de Hierro  (already one spoke of in Santa Úrsula). Also in the nuclei of Los Altos-Arroyos, Bajos y Tagoro, La Resbala, La Vera-Caril and La Victoria, we can find some building.

In La Victoria

viernes, 28 de octubre de 2016

La Victoria



Municipio: La Victoria de Acentejo 


Historia


En la época prehispanica este lugar pertenecía al Menceyato de Acentejo. Prueba de la existencia de los antiguos pobladores es; la cueva sepulcral en El Caletón con restos humanos y cerámica.

El nombre de la Victoria de Acentejo se debe a que en este lugar tuvo la victoria  de Alonso Fernandez de Lugo sobre Los Guanches, pudiendo así introducirse en Taoro. En 1945 tuvo lugar la batalla cerca del Barranco de La Matanza, y como conmemoración de la victoria se edificó una ermita bajo la denominación de nuestra Señora de la Victoria. Después de esta batalla, muchos aborígenes fueron esclavizados.

Vistas al Teide desde La Victoria 

Cuando se da el reparto de tierras, esta zona se considera cerealística. Desde el siglo XVI comienza a cultivarse la vid (en la tercera década), en zonas bajas y medianías. Esto da lugar a concentración de hacendados absentistas. Cereales y vino son las principales producciones, de secano ya que el regadío no existe. Este es uno de los conflictos en los que se enfrentan en el municipio, ya que poseían un manantial y veían de forma desigual el reparto del agua. A partir de 1920 se desencadenaron más conflictos debido a la apertura de galerías en la zona, pero que se encontraban en manos de foráneos o de propietarios que no residían en la zona.

En cuanto a la producción artesanal, contaban con telares, cintas de hilo losas y un herrero. En el municipio no se contaba con Alhóndiga (como en otros municipios); la burguesía de la zona era agraria, y la mayor parte de los mayorazgos eran de dueños foráneos. El único alfar de la isla radicaba en este municipio.

La Victoria

La población como ocurriera en los demás municipios, crece y desciende según el crecimiento económico, viéndose movimientos migratorios cuando los principales productos dejan de exportarse (en este municipio es el vino).

La Victoria de Acentejo accede a la independencia municipal en 1813, y en 1900 alcanza el título de Villa. (aunque no es un dato muy fiable).  En la zona costera la platanera se implanta después de la segunda guerra mundial, pero no es muy significativa.

Desde plaza del Ayuntamiento

Su población deja el sector primario cuando aparecen actividad como el turismo y también la construcción. En las zonas de medianías vemos cultivos de papas y viñas, que han sido revalorizado gracias a la denominación de origen. Es otros de los municipios que se puede decir ciudad dormitorio.

Casa frente a la Iglesia

Patrimonio a visitar


No podemos hablar de casco histórico propiamente dicho en la Victoria, ya que sólo quedan algunas casas alrededor de la parroquia. También se encuentran algunas haciendas rurales repartidas por el municipio (pero todo ello rodeado de construcciones más modernas).

Nuestra señora de la Victoria: declarada BIC. Junto a la parroquia se encuentra el pino del que se colgaron las campanas tras la victoria (ya que la primera ermita era una construcción muy precaria, en piedra seca y de una sola nave) . En 1537 comienza a edificarse la ermita. En 1540 se vio favorecida por la contribución en tierras y en tributos que deja uno de los mayores propietarios de la zona, dejándolo en su testamento. Hacia 1592 se le concede el título de parroquia.

Esta constituida de una nave central ancha y dos laterales mas estrechas, estas se encuentran separas por arquería de medio punto. Posee un artesonado de ochavado

Ha sufrido varias reformas: en 1537 se realiza una edificación más sólida de una sola nave. En 1589 se reconstruye tras un incendio. Pero la peor se realizó en el siglo XX alterando su fachada principal, cosa que también se modificó su torre. El resto de templo mantiene la fábrica de los siglos XVII y XVIII, mostrando cubiertas a dos aguas de teja curva.

Iglesia de la Victoria
Pino trasera Iglesia

Ermita Santo Domingo: fue fundada a finales del XVII en una hacienda. Es una capilla que se encuentra enclavada en una casona mudéjar. 

Ermita y Caso Santo Domingo

Ex-convento Santo Domingo: construcción de 1657 junto a la ermita de Santo Domingo. Servía como parada de frailes que iban hacía la Isla Baja.  Es una casona con patio y balcón corrido, fachada de mampostería y cubierta a cuatro aguas. Conserva un lagar. Su construcción finalizó en 1680, aunque ha sido remodelada. Las instalaciones actuales poseen una vivienda de medianeros, la ermita y una bodega.

Ermita y Casona Santo Domingo

Ermita San Juan: se encuentra en lo alto del casco, fue fundada a comienzos del XVIII, teniendo que ser reedificada ya que un temporal la dejo sólo con las paredes.

Es de arquitectura simple, destacando en su fachada una puerta de madera de medio punto que descansa en unos sencillos pilares. La cubierta es de dos aguas, con un pequeño campanil con una cruz en su centro. En su interior albergaba la imagen de San Juan Bautista, tallada en madera estimándose que data del sigo XVIII.

Detrás de esta ermita, se encuentra la Casa del Dean Calzadilla 


Ermita San Juan

Casa del deán


Risco de la Sabina: declarado BIC, es el límite entre los términos municipales de La Victoria y La Matanza. La zona constituye un área arqueológica de gran relevancia. Se han hallado numerosos hallazgos, pudiendo ser un importante asentamiento prehispánico aprovechando las numerosas cuevas y oquedades abiertas. Entre los hallazgos se encuentran restos de malacofauna (fauna de moluscos), cerámica, obsidiana, basalto...

Las cuevas documentadas en la zona se caracterizan por una funcionalidad doble habitacional (las cuevas en la parte superior del acantilado) y funeraria. 

Zona del Risco


Otros de los patrimonios a visitar son la ermita de la Virgen del Cobre, el Puente de Hierro (ya se habló de el en Santa Úrsula). También en los núcleos de Los Altos-Arroyos, Bajos y Tagoro, La Resbala, La Vera-Caril y La Victoria, podemos encontrar algún inmueble.

En La Victoria

martes, 27 de septiembre de 2016

El Asomadero path

Municipality: Los Realejos
Aproximate time: 04.00 Hours
Maximun Height: 1.100m
Minimun Height: 352m
Distance: 12 Km

Area Information 

The valley of La Orotava, where we can find the municipalities of  La Orotava, Los Realejos and Puerto de la Cruz, is protected by two hillsides, the hillside of Santa Úrsula and Tigaiga's hillside (scarp of Tigaiga). On this occasion we are going to realize a tour for Tigaiga's hillside.

Between the vegetation of this territory we find Helechas (Pteridium Aquilinum), Chestnut-trees (Castanea Sativa), Heathers (Erica Arborea). There are also some Laurisilva's zones composed by Fayal-Brezal (Arboreal Myrica Faya-Erica).

Signs

To remember that after years of deforestation, to obtain wood, the zone was transplanted, of there that we find species that are not autochthonous (example the chestnut-tree). In this place also we find enough gardens, especially potato´s culture. 

The fauna of the place is composed by  finding the blue blue finch (Fringilla Teydea), bats, spiders, etc.

Inside the path

View to El Valle

Description of the path 





The drop of the path

We have walked through different paths. The name of the all of them are El Asomadero-Roque de Miguel-Barranco la Calera (Ravine) -Til de los Pavos- Barranco. La Lora (Ravine). 


It is a circular path, going out and coming to the same beginning point. Along this tour, we go for several paths, but it is the best option to make it to circulate and this is a way of knowing different places. 

El Asomadero

We find the posted of the path next to the Library of this municipality, where we see the map and the sign of the path. To be more accurate, we are in the population nucleus of El Realejo Alto. This tour is well flagged, and also this one is well defined in the soil.

To come to the zone, we can take the bus (Guagua in Canary Islands) or go in car and leave it in the parkings enabled for it.


Santiago Apostol Church
We begin  the first section of the path in front of the library, although we are inside the city we see signs that are indicating us to the beginning of the way. We rise and pass behind the chapel of Calle del Medio to continue up to La Lora ravine. After leaving these streets, we enter into the ravine; first the path is already with cement tracks and after with land. We continue rectum up to coming to the first bifurcation that indicates us El  Asomadero or Til de los Pavos (Turkeys). We choose to rise for El Asomadero (this point is that on arrival, appearing later in the way of the Til de los Pavos).

We begin a constant accesion, this first section is in slope (in the shape of zigzag),  there are some stairs , but it is a constant slope up to coming to the point of El Asomadero, where one finds the tower of television.

Television tower

It is necessary to bear in mind that there is a difference accumulated of approximately 900 meters on the level of the sea. In some sections of the way  it is possible to rest and some flat zone, but it is not the habitual thing. One of the improvements things of this section is to be able to see magnificent views of the Valley of La Orotava and the zones of the north (when the vegetation allows it). It is also called the "rompepiernas" (like broken legs) (there are many people who say it) and many of the steps it has enough height.

On having come up, we take the forest track, and into the first sign to left hand, we get to Roque de Miguel path. At all time we go inside mount, it is something more flat, though there are zones with slopes but not with high inclination. On having finished this point we come to scanty meters of the shed Enrique talg.

The path
The shed

We continue for the forest track. The following point returns to be to the left hand and indicates to us Calera Ravine. We are descending in zigzag form. We find some slope, but without many inclination. On having finished it, we are inside the barrranco (ravine) and follow the sign that indicates us Til de los Pavos.

We continue descending for this another section of path. At the end of the same one, we take the sign that indicates Los Realejos. In it, in the first moment we take something off track, where we find some housings of the zone Placeres. We continue to decrease, and this section passes across gardens of different plantations. Once we end come to the same point of the sign of bifurcation. And again we take towards the nucleus of El Realejo Alto.


The path
The path
It is a path that passes inside mount (it is hot since the dampness of the zone is high enough), this one put up signs at all time, so there is no problem of being loss. In the clear day or when the cloud is higher than the own hillside, it is possible to enjoy of the magnificent view that we have to our feet. These sections of path belongs to  the Tenerife Blue Trail and to 040 (both are sporting events).

View to Los Realejos coast