viernes, 27 de mayo de 2016

Guajara´s Path

Municipality: La Orotava
Aproximate time: 2:00 (one-.way)
Maximun Height: 2.293m (aprox)
Minimun Height: 2.151m  (aprox)
Distance: 3,8 Km (aprox)


Area Information

We are before the highest point of the island, after the Teide and if we do not count Pico Vijo, which in this case Guajara would be the highest third point. 

The name of the mountain is due to the princess Guajara, who after losing her loved one in Aguere's battle (during the conquest) came to this point of the island to throw, taking the mountain her name. This personage appears in one of Antonio de Viana's works, and historians think that the history is the opposite; that he took the name of the mountain to write the novel.

Teide

In geological terms, we find many lava of type AA, for what it helps to have a good footwear.

In the high of Guajara we find the remains of one former cabin of 1856 when the astronomer Charles Piazzi established himself in the high of the mountain for the accomplishment of astronomic studies. In the 20th century also it was in this zone Jean Mascart to observe the comet Halley that remaining astonished by the climatic conditions of the zone. He proposed the creation of a permanent international observatory in Guajara.

Guajara

Description of the Path 


The drop of the path

It is necessary to clarify that in this tour we take part of the Siete Cañadas, number 4, going out from the Parador. Then in the crossing we take the number 5, Degollada de Guajara, place for which we ascend and on having finished the ascension we take the section that Alto de Guajara, path number 15.

The time that is put, 4.30 hr (one way),it is an approximate time; because we have to add the section that we cross Siete Cañada, more 1h that we ascend more 1.45h, that we cross the final section. 

And then it is necessary to do the way of return, which in this case we return for the same site of raise (we made it in this way). 

Alto de Guajara

We begin the path leaving the vehicles in El Parador. Of there we take the path of  Siete Cañadas, until we come to the crossing that indicates path to us 5. In this section we find also the crossing with the path 16, Sanatorium (to a few meters).

The first part  is relatively flat, since the tour passes for Siete Cañadas, broad enough path and with few elevation. Having come to the crossing, which is not the first one of this path. The first crossing  going out from El Parador is the number 31 Cumbres de Ucanca.

En la degollada de Guajara the ascension is continued, since we are rising for the walls of the Caldera (great depresion) and come to the dorsal one, taking the path 15.

From Guajara
Once finished this section, we cross for the dorsal one, being able to see the south zone of the island and not being able to see the Teide. On having finished the same one we continue up to the last ascension, already coming to the high part. From here we can see the south of the island, the island of La Gomera, Gran Canaria and La Palma (in the disclosed days and without calima* it is possible to see El Hierro too) and the Teide in all its majesty, with Las Cañadas to the feet.

The Teide´s shade and La Gomera
To descend, the same way is crossed, or it is possible to initiate the decrease for La Degollada.

We realize the path  to see the dawn from Guajara, being able to see the shade of the Teide in La Gomera. One of the most impressive images of this path is the final section of ascension to be able to see the giant Teide.

The cabin on the top of Guajara

*Existence of very small particles of powder or sand in suspension in the atmosphere




sábado, 30 de abril de 2016

Sendero Guajara


Municipio: La Orotava
Duración aproximada camino: 4.30 hr (aprox) ida
Desnivel máximo: 2.715m
Desnivel mínimo: 2.132m
Distancia [Km]: 7 Km


Información sobre la zona

Nos encontramos ante el punto más alto de la isla, después del Teide y si no contamos Pico Viejo, que en ese caso Guajara sería el tercer punto más alto. 

La montaña debe su nombre a la princesa Guajara, que tras perder a su amado en la batalla de Aguere (durante la conquista) vino a este punto de la isla a arrojarse, llevando la montaña su nombre. Este personaje aparece en una de las obras de Antonio de Viana, e historiadores consideran que la historia es al revés; que él para su obra tomó el nombre de la montaña. 

Guajara
Geologícamente esta zona encontramos muchas lavas de tipo AA, por lo que ayuda tener un buen calzado. 

En lo alto de Guajara encontramos los restos de un antigua cabaña de 1856 cuando el astrónomo Charles Piazzi se instaló en lo alto de la montaña para la realización de estudios astronómicos. En el siglo XX también estuvo en esa zona Jean Mascart para observar el cometa Halley que quedando maravillados por las condiciones climáticas de la zona propuso la creación de un observatorio permanente internacional en Guajara. 

Sendero zona sur de la isla

Descripción del sendero


Recorrido y Mapa de Elevación

Hay que aclarar que en este recorrido cogemos parte del Sendero de Siete Cañadas, número 4, saliendo desde el Parador. Luego en el cruce tomamos el número 5, Degollada de Guajara, lugar por el que ascendemos y al terminar la ascensión tomamos el tramo que dice Alto de Guajara, sendero número 15.

La hora que pusimos, 4.30 hr ida, es una hora aproximada; porque tenemos que sumar el tramo que recorremos Siete Cañada, más 1h que ascendemos más 1.45h, que recorremos el tramo final. Y luego hay que hacer el camino de vuelta, que en este caso volvemos por el mismo sitio de subida (así lo hicimos nosotros).

Sendero Alto de Guajara

Empezamos el sendero dejando los vehículos en el Parador. De ahí cogemos el sendero de Siete Cañadas, hasta que llegamos al cruce que nos indica sendero 5. En este tramo encontramos también el cruce con el sendero 16, Sanatorio (a unos pocos metros).

La primera parte es relativamente llana, ya que el recorrido discurre por Siete Cañadas, sendero bastante ancho y con poca elevación. Al llegar al cruce, que no es el primero de este sendero, ya que el primer cruce de senderos saliendo desde el Parador es el número 31 Cumbres de Ucanca. 

En la Degollada de Guajara la ascensión de forma continua, ya que estamos subiendo por las paredes de la caldera y llegamos a la dorsal, cogiendo el sendero 15.

Desde la Degollada de Guajara

Una vez terminado este tramo, recorremos por la dorsal, pudiendo divisar la zona sur de la isla y no pudiendo ver el Teide. Al terminar el mismo seguimos hasta la última ascensión, ya llegando a la parte alta. Desde aquí podemos ver el sur de la isla, la isla de La Gomera, Gran Canaria y La Palma (en días descubiertos y sin calima también se ve el Hierro), y el Teide en toda su majestuosidad, con las cañadas a los pies.

Para descender, se recorre el mismo camino, o se puede iniciar el descenso por la degollada. 

Sombra del Teide en la Gomera
El sendero lo realizamos para ver el amanecer desde Guajara, pudiendo divisar la sombra del Teide en la Gomera. Una de las imágenes más impresionantes de este sendero , es su tramo final de ascensión poder ver el gigante Teide. 

Alto de Guajara



sábado, 26 de marzo de 2016

Majúa

Municipality: La Orotava
Aproximate time: 1.30 (one-.way) ; 
3.00 (go and return)
Maximun Height: 2.293m (aprox)
Minimun Height: 2.151m  (aprox)
Distance: 3,8 Km (aprox)





Area Information


Majúa's Mountain (volcanic cone) is a case of explosive fonolítica eruption (a kind of eruption).The fragments of this type of eruption (escoria, bombs and pumice: type of rocks) form  volcanic cones of ashes.

Path

The typical vegetation are las retamas, codesos (Adenocarpus viscosus), hierbas conejeras (Pterocephalus lasiospermum), etc. As for the fauna we can find beetles, lizard, etc.

Description of the Path 



The drop of the path
We are in the National Park of Las Cañadas del  Teide. This path begins opposite to the base of the car cable  (to few meters of the same one).

To come to the zone, we take the bus;  the line 342 (Adeje) and 348 (Puerto de la Cruz ). Also, it is possible to find qualified zones of parkings to leave the car, since it is a viewing-point where it  begins. There are adjacent viewing-points and also it is possible to stop in the parkings towards the car cable (there is a small path that connects from the road of the car cable, without need to have to pass for the route, and connects the viewing-points between them).

Path
In this path we go from the faldas del teide (skirts of the Teide) up to the Parador ( are a set of hotels of high category distributed by the whole Spain, located in emblematic buildings or prominent emplacements that have been selected by the  historical, artistic or cultural interest.).

This is a linear path, but in our case of having come to the Parador we moved back again direction to the point of beginning (of there that in the time is is specified the going and return). 

Las Cañadas
The path is flat, and this one has signs (not only for the signs that indicate the path, but for the proper peat in the soil) for what there is no complication. Though there are sections that present some narrowness, both in the beginning and in the end, there can not be identified well the path (for the vegetation and  for the rocks).

The first part of the path is bordered on the cone of pumitas (pumice) of Majúa's Mountain, then to be bordering on washes of lava.

Teide
Along the footpath we see the panoramic ones of the Teide, as well as of Guajara (depending in that felt we were walking) and on having come at a height (the level) of the Parador it is possible to see Los Roques de García. 

Majúa

In the average section of the path there is a great plain, where it is possible to feel the silence that floods the zone, though also the fear of being alone is such a beautiful place.




miércoles, 17 de febrero de 2016

Majúa

Municipio: La Orotava
Duración: 1:30 (ida) 3:00 (vuelta)
Altitud máx: 2.293m
Altitud min: 2.151 m
Distancia: 3,8 Km (ida)



Información sobre la zona


La Montaña de Majúa (cono volcánico) es un caso de erupción fonolítica de gran explosividad. Los fragmentos de este tipo de erupción (escorias, bombas y pómez) forman conos volcánicos de cenizas.

Sendero
La vegetación característica son las retamas y algunos codesos, hierbas pajoneras, rosalillo de cumbre y margaza.

En  cuento a la fauna podemos encontrar escarabajos, lagartos, pinzón azul, etc.

Sendero

Descripción del recorrido



Recorrido y Mapa de Elevación


Nos encontramos en el Parque Nacional de las Cañadas del Teide. Este sendero comienza  frente a la base del teleférico (a pocos metros del mismo).

Para llegar a la zona, cogemos la línea 342 (Adeje) y la 348 (Puerto de la Cruz). También, se encuentran zonas habilitadas de aparcamientos para dejar el coche, ya que es un mirador (apartadero) donde comienza; hay miradores colindantes y también se puede dejar en los aparcamientos hacia el teleférico (hay un pequeño sendero que conecta desde la carretera del teleférico, sin necesidad de tener que discurrir por la vía, y conecta los miradores entre si)

Caseta del Teleférico

En este sendero vamos desde las faldas del Teide hasta el Parador, es un sendero lineal, pero en nuestro caso al llegar al parador retrocedimos de nuevo dirección al punto de inicio (de ahí que en el tiempo se especifique la ida y vuelta). 

El sendero es llano, y esta bien señalizado (no solo por las señales que indican sendero, sino por el propio sendero en el suelo) por lo que no hay complicación. Aunque hay tramos que presentan alguna estrechez, tanto en el principio como en el final,  puede no identificarse bien el sendero (por la vegetación y/o por las rocas). La primera parte del sendero se va bordeando el cono de pumitas de la Montaña de Majúa, para luego ir bordeando coladas de lava.

Sendero y Retamas

A lo largo del recorrido vemos las panorámicas del Teide, así como de Guajara (dependiendo en que sentido vayamos caminando) y al llegar a la altura del Parador se puede apreciar Los Roques de García. En el tramo medio del sendero hay una gran llanura, donde se puede sentir el silencio que inunda la zona, aunque también el miedo a estar solo es un lugar tan bello. 

Vistas al Teide

lunes, 25 de enero de 2016

The old town of Icod de los Vinos

Municipality: Icod de los Vinos 



History


In the epoch of the Guanches, the municipality was integrated under the Menceyato de Icode. It was formed as a part  of the control of war, for what the population suffered the consequences with the slavery on having finished the conquest.

The distribution of lands of this zone was equitable, however  Fernandez de Lugo saved for himself a portion of it. The Portuguese were the major percentage of the population (80 %) of the zone. There also lived  grancanarios  and very few of the Castilians.

This first population begins to settle in the current population nucleus of Las Angustias, close to the ravine from which a natural source of water was coming.

The primitive church of San Marcos was begun to construct in 1501. The saint is a Flemish sculpture, which according to the legend, it was  found on a cave of the beach of the same name.

House
The first culture was that of the sugar cane, saving Hernadez de Lugo one of a few lands of himself. Nevertheless the crises forced to the lease these lands, and a new culture was born: the grapevine. With this culture come an economic growth, as a consequence a new social elite was formed and they managed to found convents in the zone. It was in this epoch when the zone begins to be known as Icod de los Vinos. In this century more acquaintances were started building too. 

In the 17th century, it was the fourth municipality for number of inhabitants, preceded by La Laguna, La Orotava and Garachico. There was consolidated a pertaining to nobility insular elite, creating primogenitures in the zone and constructing in the household tasks hermitages to highlight the piety and the greatness of their soul.

House
After the wine crisis (the malvasía disappears in 1730), the only exit is the plantation of vidueños  (a variety of wine) which will be commercialized together with the sedates of the zone, towards North America and the Spanish Indies. After this crisis the population started to emigrate, but many people were coming back on having had sufficient economy, or were ordering money, for what this emigration did not do that the population was descending in an alarming way.

Nevertheless, this crisis stopped during a short period of time, due to the wine exports and the blockade of Great Britain; doing that the exports of the islands were increasing. A change that did not last very much, meeting aggravated to signing the peace. It is the year 1814 the last stage of export of the wine (since it was seen in the last centuries).

House
Among the problems which the population faced during these centuries, we can mention the crises in the exports, not being able to compete with others bought and seeing the need to emigrate; sanitary problems and epidemic derivatives of the lateness of constructing the cemetery; the burning flame in 1798, in that approximately 20 houses remained satiny.

In the 19th century, it was possible to find in the area public and private colleges. In May, 1888 it was finished the road that was joining them with La Orotava. In 1887 relied on the first hotel, Hotel English (same lessees that the Hotel Marqueza in Puerto de la Cruz), that it was opening the zone for foreign tourists not only for trippers of step.

Street
From the first moment the municipality had a mayor dependent on La Laguna. From the agricultural point of view, it was joined to Daute's region, of which Icod was separated in 1687, after several lawsuits by Garachico to show the hegemony of the Region. In 1812, after several requests and with the arrival of the liberal regime, Icod acquires independent town hall. Finally, it is in 1833 when the city is proclaimed  as the capital of the region.

Nowadays Icod de los Vinos possesses one of the most important old towns, due to the conservation of the same one. The population coexists between the services sector and the primary sector ,since it still possesses an important wine production, as well as production of a banana plantation.

Balcony

Representative Buildings



The old town of Icod: Declared BIC  in 2002. The Historical town includes  the real estate that line up along the principal urban routes, religious real estate too.

In general, a good part of the real estate are from the 18th century, and are fitted in the baroque stage. But this concept has to be understood more as a chronological frame of reference (not as the development of a skill). The buildings will be supported by  walls of masonry, using irregular stones taking the mud as an element of subjection.

The vano (opening in a compact surface ones) in the fronts are not very numerous and in them it predominates over the use of the wood, on having treated itself about an abundant and relatively cheap material on the islands.

In the windows it alternates the type of cushions - massive and with habitually geometric decoration and those of the guillotine, in which it predominates over the crystal. Also, there are frequent the windows that combine glazed parts and massive and, others even, windows of lattices and of the sliding panel

When many of the inhabitants were returning with more economic power of Cuba and Venezuela (or for the sending of relatives' money), this old town was modified by houses of brick and cement.



Houses and Street

Plaza la Pila (square): BIC. In the beginnings it was a small place. There was carried out a reform to enlarge them, falling down some houses. In 1976 it was put on a fountain to supply the population. In the nearest  we can find casonas (big houses) of the centuries XVII-XIX.

Square
Hospital Nuestra Señora de los Dolores : Icod de los Vinos  was a village as big as that of La Laguna, but nevertheless it was  possessing either the cavalry of the  second one nor better ways, being these narrow. In 1697 Francisco Leonardo runs with the expenses and finishes the construction of the hospital putting also a college of Jesus' Company in the same one.

Hospital

Ex-convent San Francisco: BIC in 2002. Declared Monument in 1986, being the second convent in Icod. The front of the convent is rectangular, with a series of high windows of round arch. The court of the convent dates back of the middle of the 17th century and is of plant squared with cloister of 20 columns of torch on hewn stone.  Nowadays, in one finds the Library.


Ex-convent

Church of San Agustín: BIC. Attached building to the current town hall. Building of 1585, it concerned to the first convent that it was constructed in the municipality. And Ex-convent Angustino: Current Town Hall. It was the First convent of the zone. The front is of style neocanario.


Ex-convent and church
House of the Cáceres: BIC. Casona that dates back to the 19th century, nowadays is a place used for different events.

Caceres´s House

The Church  of San Marcos: BIC. It was first a small hermitage that about 1500 got up in the same place, as a consequence of the appearance of the image of San Marcos.

It presents a rectangular plant articulated in three ships and a total of eight chapels; three in each of wings and two more to the feet of the temple. The ships are separated by arches of half a point that come out into columns of smooth shaft and simple capital, raised on plinth and base.

In the interior it is possible to see the artesonados, emphasizing that of the central ship. On the exterior, the principal front places in the south side of the church, constituting one of the best examples of the manierismo (tipe of artistic stile) in the Canaries. The simplicity of the rest of the exterior fronts is completed by the tower integrated by four superposed bodies. 

The personal property of the Church is completed by other altarpieces and images, as well as diverse pictures of certain interest.

Church


Plaza Lorenzo Cáceres (square): BIC. Construction that gets up on the former convent of the nuns Bernardas. It dates back to the 16th century and one finds about the Church San Marcos.

Square


El Drago:  in 1917 and 1927 it was named to El Drago as a national site. This one received the importance when in 1867 the temporary one ended up by falling down to the dredge of  La Orotava, which up to the date date was the biggest and ancient of the island.


Drago
A bit more on: https://www.facebook.com/Andandoportenerife

In the different populations (Buen Paso, El Amparo, La Florida, Fuente la Vega, La Vega. La Mancha, Santa Bárbara, Las Cañas, San Felipe, San Marcos) we find real estate worth being visited. Between them it been can mentioned:

House Campino: It is located in San Antonio, in the high part of Icod, closely together of the hermitage of the same name and close to the former way of El Amparo. The building of the 18th century preserves important patrimonial values. The construction was adapted to the marked slope of the area.

Campino´s House


Ermita Nuestra Señora del Buen Paso (hermitage):  BIC: it consists of two fundamental elements: the Hermitage and the pine. It is a question of one of the most ancient constructions of Tenerife and at the same time of the simplest. It possesses the typical rectangular floor. It has suffered several modifications, for what they can appreciate modern enough elements.

Tiled

Iglesia del Amparo: It is a BIC. Construction of 1587, it constitutes an architectural set of great relevancy, so much for the traditional typology of the proper temple, since  for the constructive features of called "house of the hermit " (housing that the founder of the hermitage occupied) and of the portico (or orange average). 

The church consists of a ship of rectangular floor, with artesonado.

Church